1. Home
  2. Office 365
  3. Microsoft Teams
  4. File sharing and collaboration in Microsoft Teams

File sharing and collaboration in Microsoft Teams

All staff and students can use Teams to share files and collaborate on files

Uploading files to Teams

  • Each channel in Teams has a Files area
  • You can drag and drop files from Explorer
  • You can also use the upload files button
  • You can post files in the team conversation

Where files are stored

Files are stored securely in the channel/team. Files are accessible anywhere with internet access (there is no need to connect to the university network).

Who can access files?

  • Only team members, guests and owners have access to files
  • Once on Teams, the files do not belong to any specific person, and any member of the team can read, edit or delete them 
  • To see team members, go to the  next to the team name and click manage team (all members can do this)

Collaborative editing

  • Many people can work simultaneously on a file
  • You can work on Microsoft Office documents directly within Teams
  • Office 365 shows you who’s got the file open, and any changes happening by different users in real time
  • A new version is created every time the document is closed, not every time a change is made during live editing
  • You can roll back to an previous version

Find previous versions

Open the file in SharePoint and then:

  • Go to document menu ()
  • Then Version history
  • From there, you can view or restore previous versions

If the file was deleted, you can find it again in the recycle bin:

  1. Open the file in SharePoint
  2. Find the Recycle Bin in the left menu
  3. Select the file and click Restore in the bar above

Downloading files

You can download a local copy of a file with the Download button. This will not update the original on Teams so avoid this when multiple people are working on a file as versions won’t be in sync.

Updated on 11/18/2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles