This information applies to all staff, including Honorary staff and ‘Other Contributors’ and Associates. This information does not apply to students, who should refer to:
If you are leaving Hull York Medical School at the end of your contract or appointment:
- Access to HYMS IT systems (including email, Blackboard and printing) will be automatically withdrawn approximately 30 days after the end of your contract or appointment . You will receive emails to warn you 30, 7 and 1 day before these facilities are withdrawn.
- When your account is closed any emails sent to your account will automatically be rejected. Also any out of office replies will be switched off.
- The data in your HYMS Office365 account and your files in your personal filestore (J: drive) will be saved for one year after expiry, to allow it to be reactivated should you return to the University during this time.
Hull York Medical School are not able to extend access to your account. If this is required please contact email@example.com
This page gives pointers on what to do if you are:
Before you leave the Hull York Medical School, we advise you to to check the following services and transfer data from your account:
Personal filestore (J: drive)
If your personal filestore contains files that you will still need after you leave the University, you should take a copy of these before you go. If there are files that other people will need to access after you leave (eg shared research, society information), make sure that you share copies with them.
Once your IT account is closed all email will be rejected, with a notification sent to the sender. Any email forwarding that you’ve set up will cease to operate. We recommend that you make your contacts aware of your new email address before your account expires. You should unsubscribe from any mailing lists, or update your subscription with your new email address.
Exporting emails from your HYMS account
Please see our guide on Backing up your emails using Outlook for a method of exporting your emails
OneDrive and Microsoft Teams
Please ensure that you download any files that your require from your OneDrive or Microsoft Teams prior to your account closure. Also, please ensure that any Teams or Channels within Team where you are an owner are reassigned to a new owner before account closure. Failure to do could result in files being deleted!
If you are returning to Hull York Medical School within 12 months of having left we will aim to reactivate your previous account (including email address) and to reinstate any files and data that was previously associated with your account. If you return after more than 12 months we would issue your with a new account and we would not be able to restore any of your previous data.